Thankful For…

Reflect on your present blessings, of which every man has many; not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some.       -Charles Dickens          

In honor of the Thanksgiving holiday, I asked the Naggiar team members for a favorite Thanksgiving memory or something they are thankful for.  And while I’m sure some were thinking they were thankful for the end of harvest (possibly some, ok, everyone in my family) almost universally, all replies were about friends and family.

On Thanksgiving day of 2001, I brought home my youngest daughter Grace from Guatemala.  I had spent almost 3 months away from my husband Don and older daughter Emily dealing with Grace’s difficult adoption process.  For me, Thanksgiving will always be more than just turkey, pilgrims, and spending time with friends and relatives…it is the day that my family truly became complete.                                     Kathryn (Marketing Manager and winner for most heart-tugging)  

IMG_1365IMG_0857

I’m always thankful to visit with family that we don’t get to see very often.                                                                                               Patty (Office Staff and winner for most succinct)

About 5 years ago, we were invited by our friends, the Kusels, to have Thanksgiving with them.  Even though there are 6 of us in the family, we never had any extended family close enough to spend Thanksgiving with, so inevitably, my husband made a large dinner that we consumed in 10 minutes- most of it not eaten as the kids would only eat the turkey and rolls.  It was so nice to spend Thanksgiving as part of a large group of friends, and every year thereafter, we had Thanksgiving dinner together- until last year, when they spent their Thanksgiving in Missouri contemplating a move there- unbeknownst to everyone.  So this year, I am thankful that we again get to spend Thanksgiving with them as they spend their Thanksgiving break in our hometown of Napa.                                                                                                                                          Danielle (Blogger and winner for longest-winded) 

I’m thankful for 1 wife, 5 kids, 2 son-in-laws, 1 daughter-in-law, 7 grandkids, and 4 puppies                                                                                                                                               Gary  (Tasting Room, Bistro, and unofficial Handyman and winner for most impressive family!)            

 

In 2009, I traveled back to Kuwait, where I grew up, to spend Thanksgiving with my mom.  The first Gulf War had scattered a lot of us all over the globe.  I got to visit with old friends, see the school I went to, my favorite childhood bakery, the street I grew up on.  It was extremely special and brought back lots of sweet childhood memories I am very thankful for.                                                                                                                            Mary Naggiar (Tasting Room Manager and winner for sweetest memory)

DSC_0220_(3)

This Thanksgiving I am thankful for health, my family and teenagers!                                                                                                           Kim (Tasting Room and winner for most universally mentioned- except maybe the teenager part)

I’m thankful for being debt free and a homeowner; for being a working chef here in the beautiful Sierra foothills; for being able to take the difficult things in my life and making them into something good.                                                                                                           Georgia (Naggiar Bistro Chef and winner for most inspiring)

grillinggeorgia_1

When I was a kid, my family always went to the movies on Thanksgiving Day after our feast.  These days, with my own children, we wait until the Tuesday after Thanksgiving when it’s cheaper- we’ll be seeing the Catching Fire movie this year.                                         Jennifer (Tasting Room and winner for most relatable- seeing Catching Fire is on our holiday to-do list as well)

Family to me, means everything and about 8 years ago, we spent our first Thanksgiving as a completed family at Disneyland.  Short lines in the beginning, an exceptional dinner in the Grand Ball Room of the Disneyland Hotel with my brother and his wife-to-be; and an easy drive home capped it all off.  We had a great time….and, as I look back on this, also my first year consulting on my own and the start of my relationship with Naggiar as consulting winemaker.                                                                                                                           Derek (Winemaker and winner of using my next favorite Thanksgiving memory)

Naggiar__-_Family_PIc_for_blog

In an ending note, I am thankful to all the team members (particularly Kathryn and Mary) who helped me out with this post.  May you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving filled with wine, food, wine, friends, wine, family-LOTS of wine- did I mention wine?

About dwdirwin

Wife of Naggiar Vineyards winemaker Derek Irwin, mother to 4 active kids and one dog and newbie blogger!
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

